Home » Resort Black list » Puerto Bahía Villas & Spa Timeshare Complaints

Puerto Bahía Villas & Spa Timeshare Complaints

Puerto Bahía Villas & Spa

Puerto Bahía Villas & Spa Timeshare Complaints
  Legal Name:
Ecoturismo de Bahía de Banderas S de RL de CV
  Resort sales locations
Puerto Vallarta
  Rental Companies:
Remax Paraiso, Platinum Resort Services
Common Complaints: 
  • it’s sold as "Real State" but in fact is a timeshare contract.
  • Sales people guarantee that if the resort is not completly build in 2 years the client will receive all monies paid but it is not stated anywhere in the contract. 
  • the sales people offer to "trade-in" timeshares in no more than 90 days but at the end of that timeframe, client is stuck with the old and Puerto Bahia timeshare.

Puerto Bahía Villas & Spa Phone:
Toll free from the U.S. & Canada 1-866-286-2108
 Local number in Mexico 322-115-9990

Leave your comment below and share this post on Twitter and Facebook if you like.

Write your complaint
Read what other timeshare scam victims say:
72 Complaints
  • T.O.M.Marzo 25, 2014, 7:34 am

    Agree with what others have said. Salesperson Todd is a smooth talker, even brought is "wife" along. However, you cannot believe anything he says because you will not be able to sell other timeshare units you may own. Platinum Resport Services and Mercury Property Management are scams. They will not deliver what they contracted to provide. STAY AWAY.

  • RobertoFebruary 23, 2014, 3:14 pm

    Very frustrating!

    We had an opportunity to view the property on a Sunday morning. We arrived prompt at 830 am. We had been promised 5000 pesos for our visit if we would consider this property as well as a complimentary breakfast. We own a property at present in the area and always wanted to see what this property had to offer, but had been turned away on two previous occasions because we had not been registered for a formal presentation.

    We had originally had been told that this presentation would not exceed 90 minutes unless we had an interest in purchasing. We arrived at 830 am and had been escorted to a nice waiting area to be per qualified or a purchase. This pre qualification conducted had taken almost 1 hr. 4 sales agents had a chance to qualify us before allowing us to sit and have breakfast. Breakfast was pleasant and staff prompt and friendly. After completing breakfast we had asked to view the property. We again spent almost a hour at breakfast and further pre qualifications before actually looking at only 2 units.

    The units are very nice and clean. Desirable units and pool area. Our main objections to this property where that the property was not suited for the elderly or children. The maintenance fees for timeshares are paid regardless of use unless you choose to rent your unit as a business. The beach club is in its infant stage and the promises of future phases being delivered at a unrealistic time frame ( a new phase by nov 2014) For the above reasons we had decided against a purchase in this location at this time.

    We had told our sales manger that we like the property but cannot purchase mainly because of the fee structure on maintenance . Chava the manager recognized that we are not interested at this time and handed us off to another worker. We had told Chava that the property is nice but not for us at this time. We did say that we would be interested in organizing a rental for a group of 100 for a wedding next year. We agreed that we would one back to discuss this later. The worker that Chava handed us off to had said our ride is on its way and he will take us to Claim our prize.

    After waiting another 15 minutes for our ride, we had been taken to a office to claim a prize, only to be told that Chava the manager says that no prize until we come back. I had told the lady that we have spent 3 hrs here at this presentation and we are now entitled to our prize. She said that Chava will only pay if you spend a min of 90 minutes after breakfast and not total. We threatened to call the federal police if they did not compensate us for the visit as promised and she and our driver shut the door to the office in my face and said "go ahead, that's fine". I then phone Chava and he also said to "go ahead and try". We ended up driving our selfs to the main parking lot in a golf cart because we had been left stranded on our own approximately 700 meters from our vehicle. The security guards proceeded to laugh at us when we showed our frustration.

    I stopped at the federal police to discuss the complaint and they suggested that if the property stated that we are required to allow 90 minutes of presentation, that we should have allowed the 90 minutes. Wow! Sounds like these guys have pulled this scam in the past. I said to my self ,"I will give them 90 minutes to prove a point". I went back to the property and told them I am here to finish my 90 minute presentation to claim my prize. They made me wait another hour before they just paid the 5000 pesos and did not discuss the presentation at all.

    This is so sad that such a wonderfull property gets a reputation like this. It was our full intention to view this property and consider a purchase or trade of a time share or a outright purchase if the property meet our needs. The property is very nice and we feel that the price was to expensive for what we had seen. Maybe for others they might see the value, but not us. We would have most definitely considered having a large group stay here for a wedding party next year. La cruz does not have many nice properties that will accommodate 100 people. This property will with sufficient notice. After finally collecting our 5000 pesos I tried to call Chava the manager on 3 occasions and he would no longer answer his phones.

    A little advice to Chava, when someone says they like your property but don't see the value. I.e. $1,300,000.00 USA dollars for a 3 bedroom condo, you should probably not brush hem off. You might get a bad review or loose future hotel nightly guest. I would have highly recommended this property for a hotel to many of our guest but this left a bad taste with us.

    I hope Mr. Cortez the owner reads his reviews. Such a nice place to be tainted with such a painfull prequalification and presentation. Mr. Cortez, it's a small world. Time is to valuable to wait hours to see a room.

    Roberto from la cruz.

  • Jose SotoFebruary 13, 2014, 7:34 pm

    14 de Febrero del 2014

    PUERTO BAHIA VILLAS AND SPA, The Private Residence Club
    Riviera Nayarit, Mexico

    No creo que puedan entender toda la preocupación, angustia y coraje por la que estamos pasando mi esposa y yo, porque fuimos víctimas de un fraude.

    Por querernos vender una Propiedad Fraccional en PUERTO BAHIA Villas & Spa, Riviera Nayarit, Mexico fueron capaces de mentir y engañar a mi familia y prometernos cosas que no eran ciertas TODOS en Puerto Bahia; vendedores, representantes, gerentes,..etc, todos se prestaron para estafarnos.

    La única razón por la que compramos en The Private Residence Club, PUERTO BAHIA, Riviera Nayarit, Mexico, fue porque nos ofrecieron y se comprometieron verbalmente y por escrito, a darnos dinero por el Timeshare de Mayan Palace.

    Sonaba muy bonito para ser verdad y por eso fueron casi diez horas, desde la mañana hasta que se oscureció, entre indecisions y diálogos para aclarar los datos con cada uno de los respresentantes y vendedores del lugar los cuales apoyaban las promesas y el contrato que nos dieron por escrito de depositarnos el dinero a mas tardar en este mes de noviembre la cantidad correspondiente en dollares por el Timeshare de Mayan.

    Todo fue una pura mentira sólo para engancharnos en una compra que no puedo seguir pagando porque tengo deudas en las tarjetas de crédito y estoy aún pagando intereses de los 5,765 dollares del depósito que dimos de enganche para hacer el trato. Fue mi error no haber leido el contrato/libro y en ingles y con letras pequeñitas que firmamos ahi de la compra de PUERTO BAHIA, porque despues de estar todo el día rodeados de gente que nos presionaban a comprar y ya cansados por tantas horas y con las niñas desesperadas y aburridas sólo nos quedó confiar en la Buena fe de la gente y en sus promesas, que sonaban muy reales. Son ya casi 10,000 dollares que he pagado hasta el momento entre intereses y mensualidades.

    No se vale que abusen de las familias, personas que nos matamos trabajando muy duro en este país y no piensen en las consecuencias que su ambición provoca ; económicamente y emocionalmente y psicológicamente. En estas fechas navideñas que tenía pensado comprar los regalos a mis hijas ahora resulta que en algun lugar abra personas gastando el dinero que se ganaron engañando a otros.

    Ya estoy hasta el tope de deudas y tenía la fe y esperanza que ese acuerdo/ contrato fuera verdad para liquidar parte de las deudas, ahora que voy a hacer con tres Timeshare y sin dinero para seguir pagando las mensualidades de Pueblo Bonito, Mazatlan, la casa que pago aqui y los gastos cotidianos de manutención y en la escuela de mis hijas, el salario no me alcanza. Por lo que solicito la cancelación de mi contrato # PRC-238. Si tuvieran un poquito de compación les pido el reembolzo de mi dinero o parte de los 8,000 dollares que recibieron de mi parte, ustedes son Real State y pueden vender por otro lado o tarde o temprano se vendera y a ustedes no les afecta nada ese dinero que es poquito para ustedes, pero mucho para nosotros. No me resigno a perder tanto dinero que es tan importante para mi familia y que lo podia usar en cosas que realmente necesito para mis hijas.

    Me hierve la sangre de coraje y me doy golpes por haber sido tan tonto y estúpido al poner mi confianza en gente que parece professional pero que solo se dedica a ganar el dinero defraudando, mintiendo a la gente para obtener dinero fácil. Pero hay un Dios y tarde o temprano todo se paga en esta vida…

  • TerryFebruary 4, 2014, 12:48 am

    I fell victim to a clever ruse as a result of a standoff but will not happen again!

  • WalterJanuary 27, 2014, 7:01 am

    I did not have a buyer and took the money with no reply, and I can't reach them by phone. I need our money back! They need to be in jail!

  • PatricioNovember 8, 2013, 1:13 pm

    Definitivamente algo bueno se le saca dentro de lo que se puede rescatar, pero aún así no vale la pena, a menos claro, que a alguien le guste tirar el dinero para darse un gusto personal.

  • DeanNovember 6, 2013, 8:29 pm

    Hate to admit it, but we were taken in much like most of the other folks on these blog reports. We took our tour in Dec 2012 and as we don’t have a lot of extra time it has taken a while to try to sort out the facts from the lies. After much stalling and misinformation from the players involved we have come to some very upsetting conclusions. We have had a membership in another resort for a number of years with no issues. We have come to expect some exaggeration of the truth from the resort sales staff but the people at PB are the worst. They will swear on their mothers grave that what they are telling you is the truth, look you in the eye while shaking your hand, and lie their ass off. Anything they want to say to get the sale is apparently company policy. Some key points:

    A. They claim that RE/MAX Parisio is the exclusive sales agency for PB. It’s listed on the official
    PB web site, on literature, business cards, etc. Our sales agent, Jerry Forney, claimed to be a
    licensed RE/MAX real estate agent but when asked couldn’t produce his license. After
    returning home and getting through the holidays we decided to call RE/MAX corporate in
    Denver for some verification. They had never heard of Jerry Forney and further said that the
    RE/MAX Parasio office was closed in June of 2012 with the arrest of Marc Talon the
    franchise owner. RE/MAX cut all ties to PB and Talon at that time. Marc Talon is a criminal
    and still owns the official PB web site. Call RE/MAX and check it out.

    B. They claim that this is a real estate contract and therefor there is no 5 day rescission period
    as provided by Mexican law. Fractional real estate, fractional ownership or time share are all
    the same and do have a 5 day grace period. Contact Profeco.

    C. Part of our deal was that PB would take our existing resort membership in on equity credit.
    The paperwork stated that if we didn’t go through with the transfer we could be held liable
    For the equity amount which was of course inflated. PB set us up with an Equity transfer
    company which of course required money up front to complete the transfer. After some
    more paperwork they requested payment of the resort transfer fees as the last step in the
    process. After reluctantly paying this new fee, we can no longer contact them. Total scam
    all set up by PB. Complained to PB and asked for assistance with no response.

    D. During our presentation, we were taken to breakfast at a beach club that didn’t belong to
    PB. Were told that the PB beach club was bigger and nicer and the only reason we could not
    see it was because it was being prepared for the grand opening which was to happen that
    very weekend. We have since found out that it won’t even be built until late summer of
    2014 at best.

    E. Were told that our unit could be rented and our sales agent set us up with an exclusive
    rental agency. Not happening. Were told of an 18 hole golf course for member use. It’s not
    in the project. Oh ya, the yacht. Here today, gone tomorrow ? There are some other things
    too but you should get the picture.

    It’s rather embarrassing and very maddening to think that they view everyone that comes through the door as having SUCKER written on their fore head. Granted, some of us are a little too trusting and make easy targets especially when you are led to believe that you are dealing with a reputable company such as RE/MAX. We have attempted to get honest answers to our issues but after confronting PB for answers we can not get them to respond. Guess that pretty much says it all. If you decide to do one of these resort presentations, when the first red flag goes up, walk away because there are probably 5 more that you just haven’t seen yet. We thought that this place had the potential to be quite nice and could be someday, however, BUYER BEWARE ! Might be about time to explore a CA.

  • DNovember 4, 2013, 7:32 pm

    Yep, this is a den of liars and thieves. Nothing we could do and we charged it on our CITI BANK (Banamex is owned by CITI). Showed CITI our contract and how they misrepresented themselves, showed emails where they did not give us all the legal paperwork when copying it for us and yet we still had to pay (which we did).
    So, DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT GET INVOLVED> I CAN"T STRESS THIS ENOUGH.

  • AdamOctober 25, 2013, 12:56 pm

    I wish there was a way to notify anyone getting on a plan to Puerto Vallarta not to go to any time share tours. I hope that everyone who gets scammed gets their $ back.

  • Unhappy October 21, 2013, 10:18 pm

    Dear AMM,

    What a nice testimony you wrote for Puerto Bahia and that nice man Todd Dehn. Unfortunately, we were there the day before you (December 17, 2012) and also had Todd Dehn and his wife Bianca for our Sales representatives. I'm surprised to see that you think he is a nice fellow. I guess you would think he was nice if you like liars and con men. It's almost a year now and we have received nothing that Mr. Dehn and his wife promised us. Also, Mr. Dehn nor his wife will answer our phone calls, respond to our emails or phone messages or even acknowledge that we made a large purchase with Puerto Bahia and would like to know from Todd & Bianca why nothing has come true that they told us would happen. Also, not one person, Richardo, Sergio, Karem, George Triggs, from the Management Office will respond to our inquiries. This is what you consider to be a nice man? Have you read all the negative complaints about Puerto Bahia.... they are all the same. No one gets what they were told they would get. Tell us all your secret. How did you manage to get everything Todd told you you would get? I'm sure the many people who are complaining about Puerto Bahia would like to know what they did wrong.

Share your timeshare experience Your E-mail and phone number will not be displayed
captchaChange Code
Recomended for you
Should Mexican Timeshare Solutions help you today?

Our work is based on a Contingency Basis: NO RESULTS, NO PAY.

Contact us now: 888 275 3595